Ch-ch-ch-changes

Lara Stone by Alasdair McLellan

Okay, so I lied. I wasn’t back. I have been rather busy, but I haven’t given up on this quite yet. We are edging towards 200,000 views and we probably would have surpassed that greatly if I posted the past two months, but life goes on. I started this to not only keep up on what’s going on in the fashion world: models, photographers, campaigns, editorials, and what have you. I’d say I was pretty successful in doing so. Everyone has their passions. I had family, friends, and friends of friends tell me positive things about my blog over the time, anything from a silly post that made them laugh to wanting to find the designer of a jacket a designer was wearing.

I don’t suppose I take myself too seriously, but everyone has their interests, and sometimes borderline obsessions. In not just the clothes that hang in my closet, I found the industry as a whole as an interest, and that I take seriously. I enjoy the history of garments and their construction dating centuries past, every small detail about an influential designer sticks in my memory, and the names of some no-name model to you is recognizable to me. So this thing called fashion isn’t for everyone, but the one thing that always gets me is when you’re put down for something that means so much to you.

There are few that I won’t name out of respect that have thought this as silly. Someone who was closer to me than any one person had exited my life in a rather negative manner. I later find that the support I believed I was getting from them was false. They thought the blog I was writing for my own enjoyment to be rather silly, but a reason they exited my life was because they were, I suppose, in a sense, didn’t want me to be me. I’ll be the first in admitting I love clothes more than the average human being, but I can also attest that I’ve always been the same person. An article of clothing shouldn’t dictate your love for someone. It’s mostly true that a wardrobe can bring out your personality, it doesn’t necessarily define you as a person. I’ll leave it at that.

Now, I digress. I wanted to change this up a bit. I’m thinking I will post the average posts that I usually post, but I want to add a sense of myself to this. I’ll post, or at least try, daily personal style posts and see where this goes. A great friend of mine told me to keep this up. She thought my writing was fairly good, and I thank my dear friend, Shannon. It’s all about growth from here on out.

Until next time, here’s a rather literal interpretation of the 70s with one of my favorites.

Title: The Name of the Game
Magazine: Vogue UK October 2011
Model: Lara Stone
Photographer: Alasdair McLellan
Stylist: Tabitha Simmons

[1]

Leave a Reply

