Academy Awards 2010 Fashion Debate

When I think of the Academy Awards fashions, I think of haute couture gowns that are shown in Paris, vintage gowns, and even some crazy fashions. What I want to see is different than what we all see. The Academy Awards is the one awards show you can completely go full glamor and take risks in the most elite theatrical crowd (Yeah, I said it. Get over it). Don’t get me wrong people, you don’ t have to go all-out, there is a difference between fashion and over the top in the wrong way. There is a vast difference between playing it safe with what you wear and showing your personality if it is more simple than dramatic. Very well, but I hope you see my arguments.

Speaking of arguments, I had a brief debate with my dear friend. Girl, you know I love you, so I’ll write of our debates, because I love that two friends can share their viewpoints, tear them down, and still appreciate each other for what it is. Both of us have strong opinions on what we’re interested in, so it was obvious that we would have a disagreement on a few gowns. The great thing about fashion, clothes, and the industry is everyone has an opinion. Everyone has an opinion of what is appealing. I love her, but I’m bringing up Sarah Jessica Parker and her Chanel Haute Couture Spring 2010 gown. She thought the silhouette was absent and it did nothing for her body. I disagree. It had more of an early silhouette from the 1920s that could even more be described as a cocoon. The floral bodice is highly detailed and I appreciate the craftsmanship that went into the gown. I’m not arguing if either of us are right, because it’s all perceptual, that’s quite evident, so here’s my question. Does the craftsmanship and detail vs. the appeal of the dress not judging that detail have anything to do with if the gown was beautiful? I’ll admit, her 1960s hair and makeup might not be for everyone’s taste, but I’m giving SJP an A+ for effort and style.

Another disagreement we had was over Jennifer Lopez’s Armani Privé Haute Couture Spring 2010 gown. She didn’t like the fabric, okay, I’ll give her that. I enjoyed the fabric completely that Giorgio used based on the fact I have seen the complete line that was inspired by the moon and the fact that she liked the organza princess gown that Amanda Seyfried wore of the same line and fabric, just different construction. Maybe she just liked the style, but our other friend didn’t like the fabric on Amanda’s either. Her main argument is that she didn’t carry the dress, but I feel she did. While she was no Karlie Kloss wearing it down the runway in late January, the woman rarely is over-shown by the clothes she wears, and I don’t feel like it did here. Her curves coincided fluently with the flow of the dress and  it is interesting to observe and judge. Also, the ‘Queen of Bling’, not to get confused with Dame Elizabeth Taylor, didn’t even need it with the stunning metallic and pearl-y finish to the fabric.

Those are my arguments and two different viewpoints towards fashion really. I could go on and on but I choose not to, because I’m really getting nowhere as I’ll continue to argue both points, but hey, that’s debate. I’ll have my best and worst from this years awards show later tonight.

p.s.

This is just a blog based on my viewpoints. Take them however you feel. Half the people and more won’t agree, but guess what, I don’t care. I’m writing how I see fashion based on my views. Call me stubborn, I don’t care. What’s the point of fashion if we see the things the same way? I admit, I do favor quality and will give you my opinion if I don’t like it, but I’m not going to like something just because it is what it is. Take it or leave it, people.

One thought on “Academy Awards 2010 Fashion Debate

  1. I would just like to note that I said nothing about the craftsmanship in our arguement..I actually rather enjoyed it..I merely stated that the dress did not look good on her…I said nothing about the dress, itself, not looking good..as far as JLO nothing could have helped that dress it was to heavy and to much going on for her to pull of ontop of the fact that the fabric looked like bubble wrap…

Leave a Reply

