Heels and Wedges Got Me Hooked

There’s nothing I love more than a great pair of shoes. In fact, I don’t even have a large array of shoes to choose from in my wardrobe. I tend to find my staple shoes. I have an ankle book that I recently wore out and have replaced with a monk strap, moto boot that zips in the back from Zara that I found on sale in New York. zaramonkIt was a lucky find as I believe the original price was $120 and I was going to snatch them up a month or so before. I also have the Versace x H&M buckled sneaker, a light suede boot that laces and zips, a Corcoran Marauder boot that I suggest to anyone wanting a true combat boot, and a few others that I may or may not wear.

While in New York, I added an affordable rain boot from Marc by Marc Jacobs. It was a great $30 purchase I don’t regret. I have been able to wear them around the yard when letting my dog out and as their proper use in the rain. What shoe that I’m going to speak of is what I received before NYFW. I finally broke down, and as a gift, I got the Jeffrey Campbell (The Damned) Switchblade. switchbladeSome of you may know that their is a men’s line of Jeffrey Campbell’s  that is known as The Damned that include heels and wedges for men. I find this to be very limiting and I will never understand why Jeffrey Campbell doesn’t include sizes on women’s shoes to make them fully unisex, but at the end of the day, I still have my babies. I find it so heteronormative that in this day there is such a separation of women’s attire and menswear. There is no sex to clothing and hopefully someday as a society this will change.

The Switchblade has a heel of 4 1/2″ with a 1/2″ platform. The interesting shape had me sold from the get-go. Now, what I regret is not also purchasing the Pixie Man. The wedges are perfection in every way. Alas, they’re all sold out, but my dreams came true a few days ago. While playing on eBay, I found a seller of the Damned x B Calla Fred wedge, which is the same wedge, just with camo fabric on the outside. I don’t do camo, so I will be dying them upon receiving them and will document the process and results.
fred

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

